Friday, 3 June 2016

Queen’s Birthday 2016

Picture of a young Queen Elizabeth II

The Queen’s Birthday public holiday is on the first Monday in June and is a full public holiday with schools, banks, government offices and most businesses closed.
New Zealand is one of the six largest of sixteen Commonwealth Realms within the Commonwealth of Nations, which was formerly known as the British Commonwealth.
The purpose of the Commonwealth of Nations is to unify nations and gather them together under a framework of common values and these can be read in the Singapore Declaration of Commonwealth Principles. The head of the Commonwealth is Queen Elizabeth II, monarch of England. When she became queen in 1952, she took on the role of Head of the Commonwealth. She is the monarch of countries that include United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, Papua New Guinea and Jamaica.
The Queen’s birthday is actually on 21 April (1926) but it is celebrated on various dates across the commonwealth to fit with each country’s spread of public holidays.